Career & Finances / Sam's Thoughts

Three Books You Need to Read if You Love Being Prepared for Life

New Year Resolution (NYR) #1: Read 50+ books before 2018.

What once sounded daunting is now one of my favorite parts of this life that I’m living. I forgot how rich it feels to thumb through a physical paperback after a long day of staring at a matrix-like configuration of computer monitors. One of my (newly practiced) favorite ways to end the day is to curl up deep under the covers and squeeze in a few more chapters before my eyes involuntarily close.

But perhaps my favorite part of this NYR is the knowledge I’ve been gleaning from the endless shelves of my local library. I was born pre-internet (although I’ll admit I was super young…) so I understand what the world was like before I had Google at my fingertips. But when you’re a research nerd like this Anthropologist, books offer the ultimate information that you don’t need to be concerned is off of Wikipedia.

Recently I’ve read some life changing books. These are books you’re going to want to pack in your beach bag during that quick vacation, or your new read for that endless morning commute. And if you’re a planner like me, you’ll find these to be invaluable to all areas of your life.


9780062122117_p0_v3_s1200x630.jpgI Shouldn’t Be Telling You This: How to Ask for the Money, Snag the Promotion, and Create the Career You Deserve. Kate White

This book was incredibly hard for me to put down. I didn’t want to miss a thing. All the question I’d be stumbling over and all the thoughts I had been internalizing were simply explained by this one book. Kate White has had such a lucrative and diverse career in the publishing world; not only has she published numerous mystery novels and career-help books, but she also worked her way up to Editor-in-Chief of Cosmopolitan during its peak years. If anyone has the right advice for your career, it’s her.


51wYTwcoHgL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgLove Warrior: A Memoir. Glennon Doyle Melton

Every man and woman who ever desires to make a marriage succeed will need to read this book or hear the author speak. Tucked inside this heartbreaking memoir are ideas and practical understandings of what love is and looks like for individuals and the ones that they love. She delves into healing of the mind, body, and soul. She pours out her own honest journey of redemption, and drops advice throughout that could save your life one day. It’s a must-read.

 

 


1488494113-men-explain.jpgMen Explain Things to Me. Rebecca Solnit

When I first saw the title of this book, I physically laughed out loud. As a woman working in the business world, there is a serious phenomenon of “mansplaining” in occurrence. But I am happy to report that this wonderful essay delves much, much deeper. In it, she explains statistics that clearly define the inequality between men and women in all aspects of this world. She speaks of domestic violence, unequal pay, and women’s rights denied. It’s seriously a call-to-action book that will get you talking about the underlying issues of today’s society. I highly recommend it for your book club! (Also, men, you should read it too! She doesn’t attack the male gender. She merely calls for discussion on all points.)


 

If you enjoyed these reading recommendations, be sure to reach out to me on Twitter (@FemininePigrim) or Facebook to hear more about what I’m currently reading!

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Three Books You Need to Read if You Love Being Prepared for Life

What did you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s